President Mnangagwa receives 5 new diplomats

June 19, 2018
| Report Focus News

President Emmerson Mnangagwa has received letters of credence from five new ambassadors that have come to represent their countries in Zimbabwe.

They are Ambassador Michael Gerrard Burrell of New Zealand, Mr Vu Van Dung of the Socialist Republic of Vietnam, Mrs Narjes Dridi of the Republic of Tunisia, Mr Myint Swe of the Republic of Mynmar and Mr Viyaje P. Lutchmun of the Republic of Mauritius.

Before accepting the five diplomats, the President first held bilateral discussions with a special envoy of Ugandan President Yoweri Museveni, Honourable Major-General Kahinda Otafire who is also Ugandan Minister of Defence.

The incoming New Zealand Ambassador Mr Burrell said his country would want to see the ease of doing business further improve in Zimbabwe and looks forward to increased business.

Mr Burrell also spoke about cooperation in the education sector through increasing scholarships to Zimbabwe.

He said Zimbabwe and New Zealand have always had good economic relations in the past and it’s time to rekindle them through cooperation in areas like the dairy sector and other aspects of agriculture.

The Vietnamese ambassador Mr Vu Van Dung said there is great potential to increase trade between the two countries through cotton and tobacco exports to Vietnam and rice imports.

He said the Asian country will continue to explore new sectors of investment in Zimbabwe.

All the new ambassadors who presented their credentials today are based in Pretoria.

The ambassador of Tunisia said she will be back in Zimbabwe to explore possible business opportunities in Zimbabwe to contribute in the growing of the economy.