Zimbabwean Musician Sandra Ndebele Wins Councillor Seat in Bulawayo By-Elections

December 10, 2023
Zimbabwean Musician Sandra Ndebele Wins Zanu PF Primary Elections | Report Focus News
Zimbabwean Musician Sandra Ndebele Wins Zanu-PF Primary Elections

Renowned Zimbabwean musician Sandra Ndebele has emerged victorious in the by-elections for Councillor of Ward 20 in Bulawayo, held on December 9, 2023. Running under the banner of the ruling Zimbabwe African National Union Patriotic Front (ZANU PF), Ndebele secured 1,106 votes, defeating her rival, Simbarashe Dube of the Citizens Coalition for Change (CCC), who received 782 votes.

This victory marks a significant turnaround for Ndebele, who had previously lost to Simbarashe Dube during the general elections held in August 2023. The by-election results signal a shift in voter sentiment and are indicative of Ndebele’s growing popularity among her constituents.

In addition to the main contenders, Michael Gumede of the CCC and Nomagugu Ndlovu of the Zimbabwe African People’s Union (ZAPU) received 57 and 11 votes, respectively. The competition was fierce, but Ndebele’s election to the Ward 20 Councillor position underscores the dynamic political landscape in Zimbabwe.

Meanwhile, in the city of Masvingo, Shantiel Yeukai Chiwara, who had previously been elected as the City’s Mayor in the harmonized elections, faced a different fate in the by-election for Masvingo Ward 2. Benson Hwata, representing ZANU PF, emerged victorious with 612 votes, narrowly defeating Chiwara of the CCC, who secured 585 votes. Roki Kamuzonda of CCC and independent candidate Frank Chirairo both received 90 votes each.

Donaldson Mabuto of the CCC has been declared the Councillor for Ward 9 in Bulawayo, further strengthening the party’s presence in the region.

Sandra Ndebele | Report Focus News
Sandra Ndebele

Another significant win for the CCC came in the form of Tinevimbo Maposa, who clinched victory as the Councillor for Ward 21 in Bulawayo. Maposa received 964 votes, while her opponents, Godfrey Dube (Independent), Andrew Nyathi (CCC), and Mkaita Janet Tekere (ZANU PF), received 15, 74, and 400 votes, respectively. The CCC’s success in various wards reflects their growing influence in Bulawayo’s local politics.

However, these by-elections have not been without controversy. Some observers have criticized the process, describing it as a “sham election.” These by-elections were called to fill vacant positions after Sengezo Tshabangu, the self-proclaimed interim secretary-general of the CCC, recalled several CCC officials from Parliament and local governments, asserting that they no longer belonged to the party.

The political landscape in Zimbabwe continues to evolve, with more by-elections scheduled to take place on February 3, 2024. These upcoming contests will be closely watched as they may further shape the country’s political future.