MPs vote on amendments after backing Brexit delay bill

September 4, 2019
| Report Focus News

Members of Parliament are voting on amendments to a bill designed to block a no-deal Brexit after it passed its second reading.

The bill, which passed by 329 votes to 300, moved into the committee stage, where MPs debated amendments to it.

After being approved by the Speaker, the first to be voted on is amendment 19, proposed by Conservative Richard Graham.

Mr Graham’s amendment would remove the need for Parliament to approve a no deal and insert a requirement for Boris Johnson to seek an extension for a deal.

If the bill passes its third reading this evening, it will then be sent to the House of Lords for the next phase.

Before the vote was announced, Liberal Democrats peer Lord Strasburger tweeted that the debate in the Lords could last for days.

He said: “I’m proud to be playing a small part in the Lords’ marathon effort to stop no-deal, which will force Johnson to try to reach a deal (which he can’t). Just had our first two votes of potentially 200. This could run round the clock into the weekend.”

The division list showed Conservative Dame Caroline Spelman voted for the Bill at second reading.

She was joined by almost all of the newly Independent MPs who lost the Tory whip on Tuesday in the ayes lobby.