Bathabile Dlamini resigns as ANC Member of Parliament

June 11, 2019
| Report Focus News

Bathabile Dlamini, the leader of the ANC Women’s League, has resigned as a member of parliament.

The announcement was made early on Tuesday, barely a day after Jeff Radebe and Siyabonga Cwele officially tendered their resignations.

ANC spokesperson Pule Mabe and Chief Whip Pemmy Majodina have confirmed Dlamini’s resignation. 

Last week, former Cabinet ministers Nomaindia Mfeketho, Tokozile Xasa, Susan Shabangu, and Dipuo Letsatsi-Duba also called it quits as ANC MPs after serving in various Cabinet portfolios.

Meanwhile, about six new ANC MPs are expected to be sworn in this afternoon to fill the vacancies that arose when some former cabinet ministers and ANC members did not take up their seats.

Dlamini’s resignation is sure to be welcomed by opposition parties who have been baying for her blood over the Sassa grant payment debacle during her tenure as social development minister.